In this first stage, the catalogue focuses on the modern and contemporary architecture designed and built between 1832 –year of construction of the first industrial chimney in Barcelona that we establish as the beginning of modernity– until today.

The project is born to make the architecture more accessible both to professionals and to the citizens through a website that is going to be updated and extended. Contemporary works of greater general interest will be incorporated, always with a necessary historical perspective, while gradually adding works from our past, with the ambitious objective of understanding a greater documented period.

The collection feeds from multiple sources, mainly from the generosity of architectural and photographic studios, as well as the large amount of excellent historical and reference editorial projects, such as architectural guides, magazines, monographs and other publications. It also takes into consideration all the reference sources from the various branches and associated entities with the COAC and other collaborating entities related to the architectural and design fields, in its maximum spectrum.

Special mention should be made of the incorporation of vast documentation from the COAC Historical Archive which, thanks to its documental richness, provides a large amount of valuable –and in some cases unpublished– graphic documentation.

The rigour and criteria for selection of the works has been stablished by a Documental Commission, formed by the COAC’s Culture Spokesperson, the director of the COAC Historical Archive, the directors of the COAC Digital Archive, and professionals and other external experts from all the territorial sections that look after to offer a transversal view of the current and past architectural landscape around the territory.

The determination of this project is to become the largest digital collection about Catalan architecture; a key tool of exemplar information and documentation about architecture, which turns into a local and international referent, for the way to explain and show the architectural heritage of a territory.

Aureli Mora i Omar Ornaque
Directors of the COAC Digital Archive


About us

Architects' Association of Catalonia:

Àrea de Cultura


2019-2020 Aureli Mora i Omar Ornaque

Documental Commission:

2019-2020 Ramon Faura Carolina B. Garcia Francesc Rafat Antoni López Daufí Joan Falgueras Anton Pàmies Mercè Bosch Josep Ferrando Fernando Marzá Aureli Mora Omar Ornaque

External Collaborators:

2019-2020 Lluis Andreu Sergi Ballester Maria Jesús Quintero


Generalitat de Catalunya Departament de Cultura

Collaborating Entities:



Fundació Mies van der Rohe


Fundación DOCOMOMO Ibérico

Design & Development:

Nubilum Edittio

In Pictures

  • AleaOlea Arquitectura i Paisatge


ALEAOLEA és una plataforma formada per joves professionals provinents del món de l’arquitectura i el paisatgisme establerta entre Barcelona i Tunis. L’equip treballa en projectes d’escales molt diverses, que van des de l’estudi del territori i el paisatge fins a la intervenció en el camp del la rehabilitació i el patrimoni. El seu treball persegueix un mateix objectiu, oferir propostes contemporànies compromeses amb el seu context cultural, social i econòmic a través d’un diàleg constant amb l’entorn i els seus usuaris. La seva obra construïda ha estat guardonada amb diferents premis nacionals i internacionals entre els quals destaquen el Premi Catalunya Construcció (Barcelona, 2017), el Premi Internacional London Brick Awards (Londres, 2017), el Premi Fritz-Höger-Preis (Berlín, 2017), el Premi Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 (Viena, 2018), el Premi Internacional Mediterranean Mimar Sinan Prize 2018 (Istanbul, 2018) i el Premi Hyspalit (Granada, 2018). Recentment l’obra de l’Església Vella de Vilanova de la Barca ha estat guardonada pel Royal Institute of British Architects en els Premis Anuals d'Arquitectura Internacional Riba International Prize. Riba Award for International Excellence 2018 (Londres, 2018). ALEAOLEA Arquitectura i Paisatge està integrada pels arquitectes Nawel Laroui, Laia Renalias, Carles Serrano, Leticia Soriano i Roger Such.


On the Map



  1. Church of Vilanova de la Barca

    AleaOlea Arquitectura i Paisatge, Laia Renalias, Carles Serrano, Leticia Soriano, Roger Such

    Church of Vilanova de la Barca

  2. FAD Award

    Shortlisted. Category: Architecture

    FAD Award

    Church of Vilanova de la Barca

    AleaOlea Arquitectura i Paisatge, Laia Renalias, Carles Serrano, Leticia Soriano, Roger Such