In this first stage, the catalogue focuses on the modern and contemporary architecture designed and built between 1832 –year of construction of the first industrial chimney in Barcelona that we establish as the beginning of modernity– until today.

The project is born to make the architecture more accessible both to professionals and to the citizens through a website that is going to be updated and extended. Contemporary works of greater general interest will be incorporated, always with a necessary historical perspective, while gradually adding works from our past, with the ambitious objective of understanding a greater documented period.

The collection feeds from multiple sources, mainly from the generosity of architectural and photographic studios, as well as the large amount of excellent historical and reference editorial projects, such as architectural guides, magazines, monographs and other publications. It also takes into consideration all the reference sources from the various branches and associated entities with the COAC and other collaborating entities related to the architectural and design fields, in its maximum spectrum.

Special mention should be made of the incorporation of vast documentation from the COAC Historical Archive which, thanks to its documental richness, provides a large amount of valuable –and in some cases unpublished– graphic documentation.

The rigour and criteria for selection of the works has been stablished by a Documental Commission, formed by the COAC’s Culture Spokesperson, the director of the COAC Historical Archive, the directors of the COAC Digital Archive, and professionals and other external experts from all the territorial sections that look after to offer a transversal view of the current and past architectural landscape around the territory.

The determination of this project is to become the largest digital collection about Catalan architecture; a key tool of exemplar information and documentation about architecture, which turns into a local and international referent, for the way to explain and show the architectural heritage of a territory.

Aureli Mora i Omar Ornaque


About us

Architects' Association of Catalonia:

Àrea de Cultura


2019-2022 Aureli Mora i Omar Ornaque

Documental Commission:

2019-2022 Ramon Faura Carolina B. Garcia Francesc Rafat Antoni López Daufí Joan Falgueras Anton Pàmies Mercè Bosch Josep Ferrando Fernando Marzá Aureli Mora Omar Ornaque

External Collaborators:

2019-2022 Lluis Andreu Sergi Ballester Maria Jesús Quintero

With the support of:

Generalitat de Catalunya Departament de Cultura

Collaborating Entities:



Fundació Mies van der Rohe


Fundación DOCOMOMO Ibérico

Design & Development:

Nubilum Edittio

Suggestion box

Request the image

We kindly invite you to help us improve the dissemination of Catalan architecture through this space. Here you can propose works and provide or amend information on authors, photographers and their work, along with adding comments. The Documentary Commission will analyze all data. Please do only fill in the fields you deem necessary to add or amend the information.

The Arxiu Històric del Col·legi d'Arquitectes de Catalunya is one of the most important documentation centers in Europe, which houses the professional collections of more than 180 architects whose work is fundamental to understanding the history of Catalan architecture. By filling this form, you can request digital copies of the documents for which the Arxiu Històric del Col·legi d'Arquitectes de Catalunya manages the exploitation of the author's rights, as well as those in the public domain. Once the application has been made, the Arxiu Històric del Col·legi d'Arquitectes de Catalunya will send you an approximate budget, which varies in terms of each use and purpose.

Image requested:

* If the memory has known authorship or rights, cite them in the field above 'Comments' .

* If the photographs has known authorship or rights, cite them in the field above 'Comments'.
You can attach up to 5 files of up to 10 MB each.


Arquitecte titulat per l’ETSAB l’any 1962. Realitzà entre d’altres edificacions, els habitatges esglaonats de Montbau (1963), el Pavelló d’informació hotelera del parc de la Devesa (1964), o el complexe d’apartaments format per tres volums (Ipanema, i Capanema i Mar i vent), els dos primers realitzats per l’arquitecte, a Platja d’Aro (1974-1976) . Ha desenvolupat la seva obra majoritariament a la provincia de Girona.

Source: Arxiu Històric del COAC


On the Map



  1. Les Cases Verdes

    Joan Bosch i Agustí

    Les Cases Verdes

  2. Single-Family Homes on the Montbau Estate

    Joan Bosch i Agustí

    Single-Family Homes on the Montbau Estate

    Built in the third and last phase of the Montbau planning, although they were already contemplated in the initial project, they occupy the highest part of the estate, where the land has more slope. These 70 stepped houses form a set of white volumes with terraces and are arranged in the shape of a fan, following the contours. This is an atypical typology, straddling the garden city and a compact building. The regularity of its planning is interfered with by the topography of the place and forces to break the linearity of the corridors, incorporating stairs, creating a singular, adapted mesh. Resolving this complexity also creates bridges that run beneath homes. The vegetation that is planted around these built elements represents a continuity and complement of the natural set of the forest characteristic of the slope where it is located. The functional program is solved with 3 different typologies, between 90 and 120 m2, in duplex. The size of the corridor allows the construction with load-bearing walls, thus maintaining the space in between the open space.
  3. FAD Award

    Finalist. Category: Architecture

    FAD Award

    Single-Family Homes on the Montbau Estate

    Joan Bosch i Agustí

  4. Casa Dolera Lajo

    Joan Bosch i Agustí

    Casa Dolera Lajo

    El volum purista, ubicat en una parcel·la regular amb jardí intimista, allotja un mecanisme repetidament assajat els anys seixanta i setanta: el desenvolupament de l’escala central que expandeix centrífugament els diferents nivells, sense passadissos. La seqüència helicoïdal permet la comprensió vertical d’uns espais complexos.
  5. Bloc d'Habitatges Hortes 22

    Joan Bosch i Agustí

    Bloc d'Habitatges Hortes 22


  • [Habitatges unifamiliars]


    [Habitatges unifamiliars]

    Arxiu Històric del COAC